I Wish I’d Thought Of That: Thank You Letters

The video below is my (rejected) entry to the I Wish I’d Thought Of It competition. But every silver lining has a cloud…so now it’s also a podcast and a blog post.

When I was a kid I used to hate writing thank you letters. And now it’s my job.

I love thank you letters because they are everything that is good with the world.

As a fundraiser I love them because they’re income generators. But very often they’re neglected by charities because they’re seen as a cost.

But the nicer your thank you letter the more likely you will get an equal or greater gift the next time. The nicer the thank you the more likely there will be a next time. That’s why it’s worth sending a thank you letter for a gift of any size…even a €1 donation.

Thank you letters are the backbone of everything we do.

Need some inspiration for your next thank you letter? Here’s some lovely thank you letter openings from outside the charity sector:

  • “I must write a special letter and thank you for the dream in the bottle.” – Roald Dahl
  • “I apologize for being so rude and thank you for not hitting me.” – John Lennon
  • “While I still have got breath in my lungs I will tell you what a dandy car you make.” – Clyde Champion Barrow
  • “I have recently been told that I am one of the millions of Americans who will be afflicted with Alzheimer’s disease.” – Ronald Reagan

Leave a Reply

